Dune: The Sisterhood will resume filming amid WGA and SAG strikes

Accordingly meetingWarner Bros. Television has decided to resume Budapest production of Max’s upcoming prequel Dune: The Sisterhood despite the ongoing WGA and SAG-AFTRA strikes. Like House of the Dragon, the Dune spin-off series has mostly British cast members working under equity contracts.

The channel’s sources point out that SAG-AFTRA members who are also under equity contracts are reportedly advised to “keep checking in at work.” Although they still have the option to boycott the strikes in solidarity with the strikes, the UK’s tough anti-strike laws could prevent them from doing so because studios could use this to sue them.

Who is in Dune: The Sisterhood?

Set 10,000 years before the rise of Paul Atreides, Dune: The Sisterhood follows the Harkonnen sisters as they fight against forces that threaten the future of mankind and create the fabled cult known as the Bene Gesserit. The series stars Emily Watson, Olivia Williams, Jodhi May, Sarah-Sofie Boussnina, Shalom Brune-Franklin, Faoileann Cunningham, Aoife Hinds, Chloe Lea, Travis Fimmel, Mark Strong, Jade Anouka, Chris Mason, Josh Heuston and Edward Davis.

Set in the universe of Frank Herbert’s epic Dune novel, the series is told from the perspective of a mysterious order of women known as the Bene Gesserit. Gifted with extraordinary abilities, this group of women weaves through the feudal politics of Dune and pursues their own agendas that eventually lead them to the mysterious planet of Arrakis.

The project comes from Legendary Television. Diane Ademu-John previously served as co-showrunner with Alison Schapker before stepping down from that role last month. Executive Producers are Ademu-John, Schapker, Denis Villeneuve, Jon Spaihts, Scott Z. Burns, Matthew King, John Cameron and Cait Collins, and Brian Herbert, Byron Merritt and Kim Herbert on behalf of the Frank Herbert Estate.