Dune: The Sisterhood finds new director and recasts two roles

Accordingly meetingFilmmaker Anna Foerster has been chosen as the new director for the upcoming Max prequel series Dune: The Sisterhood. This follows Johan Renck’s exit from Chernobyl last March. Foerster, who has directed episodes of Outlander and Westworld, is expected to direct several episodes.

Max also welcomed the addition of The Crown’s Olivia Williams and The Witcher star Jodhi May to the ensemble cast of Dune: The Sisterhood. Williams will replace Shirley Henderson in the lead role of Tula Harkonnen, while May will take on the role of Natalya, who was originally set to be played by Game of Thrones’ Indira Varma.

The outlet’s sources indicate that Varma left the high-profile project due to scheduling conflicts.

Who is involved in Dune: The Sisterhood?

Set 10,000 years before the rise of Paul Atreides, Dune: The Sisterhood follows the Harkonnen sisters as they fight against forces that threaten the future of mankind and create the fabled cult known as the Bene Gesserit. The series will also star Emily Watson, Sarah-Sofie Boussnina, Shalom Brune-Franklin, Faoileann Cunningham, Aoife Hinds, Chloe Lea, Travis Fimmel, Mark Strong, Jade Anouka, Chris Mason, Josh Heuston and Edward Davis.

The project comes from Legendary Television. Diane Ademu-John previously served as co-showrunner with Alison Schapker before stepping down from that role last month. Executive Producers are Ademu-John, Schapker, Denis Villeneuve, Jon Spaihts, Scott Z. Burns, Matthew King, John Cameron and Cait Collins, and Brian Herbert, Byron Merritt and Kim Herbert on behalf of the Frank Herbert Estate.

Set in the universe of Frank Herbert’s epic Dune novel, the series is told from the perspective of a mysterious order of women known as the Bene Gesserit. Gifted with extraordinary abilities, this group of women weaves through the feudal politics of Dune and pursues their own agendas that eventually lead them to the mysterious planet of Arrakis.